I traveled to 3 countries (Singapore, Indonesia and Malaysia) for less than 15,000 pesos (-$300 USD) – 5D4N Itinerary and Expenses

 

Many of us are afraid to travel outside the country coz we think that it will cost us an arm and a leg. But would you believe me if I tell you that I only spent less than 15,000 pesos (less than $300 USD) for 3 countries (Singapore, Indonesia and Malaysia) ? Yes, that’s possible!

Here are some tips from a budget traveler:

You just have to keep an eye out for special deals. May it be a promo plane ticket, theme park ticket or hotel for your accommodation. 

You don’t need a luxurious hotel when travelling because most of your time will be spent outside.

In my case, I booked my plane tickets 7 months before my travel date. I booked round trip plane tickets on February 2016, traveled to Singapore on September 14, 2016. Thanks to CebPac’s piso fare promo. I got mine for only 4,753 pesos ($95 USD) with prepaid baggage.

I chose Clifden hostel for my accommodation. For 4 nights, I only paid 2,750 pesos ($55 USD) inclusive of breakfast.

Click this to book your reservation Clifden Hostel

The location is in the heart of Little India and less than a 10-minute walk from Little India MRT station. It has clean air-conditioned rooms, beds and bathroom. Front desk staff are awesome: friendly, flexible, helpful and quick to address any issue. Breakfast is very basic, just bread with spread (strawberry jam, butter and peanut butter) plus a choice of coffee, tea or hot chocolate. I prefer rice for breakfast. So, for rice eaters like me, don’t worry, there are plenty of cheap eats just a block away.


So let me share with you my itinerary and expenses for my 5 days 4 nights trip to SG-IND-MY.

Day 1 – September 14

1:40 PM – Departure Manila- SG
Image may contain: twilight, sky and outdoor
5:10 PM – Arrival Changi Airport

The airport has a very nice soothing ambiance with well-placed signs. It’s a very clean, green and efficient airport.

6:00 PM – Drop things off the hostel at Little India
7:00 PM – Had dinner. I couldn’t find the fast food restaurants on my first day so I opted to have dinner at an Indian restaurant.

Image may contain: food

I honestly didn’t like the smell of it.

Image may contain: text and food

9:00 PM  Visited a temple in Little India.

Image may contain: night and outdoor


Day 2 – September 15

8:30 AM Departure SG- Batam Indonesia
Note: Arrive 1 1/2 before your departure time for visa stamp.
FYI Singapore is 1 hour ahead of Batam Indonesia.

I only paid 2,388 pesos ($48 USD) for a round trip ferry ticket. I booked ferry tickets 2 days before my trip. You may check Batam Ferry’s website for the ticket price.

9:30 AM Rented a taxi for 1,117 pesos ( 300,000 rupiah/ $22 USD)

Here are the places I visited in Batam, Indonesia:

Image may contain: 1 person, smiling, grass, outdoor and nature

Maha Vihara Duta Maitreya Monastery. The biggest Buddhist temple in Indonesia.

Image may contain: sky and outdoor

Nagoya Hill  is a shopping center. But I did not go inside coz I arrived here at 9 AM. The mall opens at 10 AM

Image may contain: house, grass, plant, outdoor and nature

Miniature houses.

I also visited the chocolate factory and had a very relaxing massage in a spa centre near Nagoya Hill for only 600 pesos (160,000 rupiah / $12 USD)

12:50 PM Went back to Batam port. Departure  Batam – SG
2:30 PM I decided to go to Sentosa Island. 

Image may contain: sky and outdoor

4:00 PM Took photos of the famous Merlion, Marina bay sands and Helix bridge.

Image may contain: 1 person, standing, ocean, outdoor and water

The Merlion. Coz bottled water is a bit pricey here.

Image may contain: one or more people, people standing, sky, outdoor and water

Marina Bay Sands


Day 3 – September 16

8:30 AM Off to Johor, Malaysia. Took the train to Woodlands station and rode on the bus going to Malaysia.

No automatic alt text available.

12:00 AM Arrived at Legoland

Image may contain: text and outdoor

4:00 PM Took a bus going back to Singapore. I only paid 168 pesos ( 15 ringgit / $3 USD )
8:00 PM Met my friend Yin at Gardens by the Bay.

Image may contain: night

Image may contain: night

Image may contain: indoor

9:00 PM Had dinner at Satay by the Bay

Image may contain: food

Spent only $10 for these foods.


Day 4 – September 17

9:00 AM Went to China town and took photos

Look who I saw at China town station!

Song Jong Ki Oppa!

Image may contain: one or more people, people standing, shoes and outdoor

Outside China town station

Image may contain: food

Look! They also have Durian!

Image may contain: 1 person, smiling

Gong xi fa cai!

12:00 NN Had lunch at a restaurant nearby.

Image may contain: food

Satay again… lol

Disclaimer: Not my favorite!

2:00 PM Met my friend Felix at Lucky Plaza, Orchard Road
3:00 PM We rode on the cable car to Sentosa Island.

Image may contain: one or more people, people sitting, sky and outdoor

Hi friend! Nice view, eh?

Tried this freshly squeezed orange juice worth $5

Check my video on Facebook: 

6:00 PM We went prawn fishing at Boon Lay. It costs $40 for 2 hours. (Paid by my friend Felix, lol )

Took me an hour to catch my first prawn.

No automatic alt text available.

I caught some lobsters, too!

Ooops sorry, I am a newbie.

Tried SG’s Jasmine Green Tea at 7 11 that costs $4.

8:00 PM Had dinner at Geylang

BEFORE…

AFTER…

Image may contain: people sitting and food


Day 5- September 18

9:00 AM Went to Bugis Street to buy pasalubong.

No automatic alt text available.

Image may contain: 1 person

11:30 AM Checked out and had lunch at Bugis Junction.

No automatic alt text available.

Image may contain: food

Spicy noodles for lunch

Image may contain: food

Tomato in vinegar

2:30 PM Arrived at Changi Airport. 

Image may contain: plant and indoor

I arrived 4 hours before my flight so I stayed here and watched the fish swim.

Image may contain: drawing

Had fun doing this while waiting for my boarding time.

Image may contain: outdoor and water

Hey buddies! Did you see Nemo?

6:40 PM Departure SG-Manila
10:20 PM Arrival in Manila

Image may contain: night, sky and outdoor

HOME SWEET HOME!


EXPENSES:

Round trip flight tickets: 4,753 pesos ($95 USD)
Accommodation: 2,750 pesos ($55 USD)
EZ Link : 1000 pesos ( $20 USD)
Legoland ticket: 1,516 pesos ($30 USD)
Round trip ferry tickets (Batam Ferry) : 1692 pesos ($34 USD)
Bus fare MY-Legoland- MY : 157 pesos x 2 = 314 pesos ($6 USD)
Food budget:  2 Meals/ day (Lunch and Dinner) 248 pesos ($5 USD) x 5 days = 1,243 pesos ($25 USD)
Taxi rental in Batam: 1,117 pesos ( $22 USD)
Massage in Batam: 600 pesos ($12 USD)
TOTAL: 14,985 pesos ($299 USD) 
10 thoughts on “I traveled to 3 countries (Singapore, Indonesia and Malaysia) for less than 15,000 pesos (-$300 USD) – 5D4N Itinerary and Expenses

  1. Wow! That’s incredible that you could do three countries for so little – super impressive! I love the Merlion. My parents have traveled to Singapore, and they bought me back a little magnet with it on.

  2. Great work! As a budget traveller I appreciate the effort you put into record and explain the costs. Hopefully it will help the rest.

  3. It’s really cool how you manage to budget this trip and don’t spend a lot of money while still visiting places, doing things and enjoying the perks of a massage for example. I have been to Malaysia before, but just to Kuala Lumpur. The food is so good there!

  4. I LOVE itineraries where people give you insight on how they spent their day exactly and how much money they spent. Thanks for this guide! Also, kudos to you on keeping the budget so low, its not easy

Leave a Reply

